Congratulations to our 2012 Scholarship Recipients!

Written by on . Posted in Legislature News

Every year Adrian is honoured to present a scholarship to outstanding graduates of Vancouver-Kingsway’s two secondary schools: Gladstone and Windermere.

From Gladstone, the awards went to Annet Yanken and Pauline Young.

Annet is planning to study sciences at SFU or UBC next fall to become a doctor and has been nominated to receive a SFU entrance scholarship. Annet has been on the honour roll consistently since grade 8 and has also been on the Principal’s List. She is graduating a year early from the mini school program with a 92% average.  During her time at Gladstone she has been involved in the badminton club, interact club, the high school mentorship program and has coached basketball at Beaconsfield. Her hard work and dedication will serve her well. Annet is also this year’s recipient of the Adrian Dix award.

Pauline is planning to attend UBC where she has been admitted to the faculty of science. In the past five years, Pauline has contributed countless hours to the school and community. She has been involved with leadership, grad committee, interact club, mentors, lighting crew, managed the basketball and volleyball, and played on the basketball team. In the community she has given time to support various elementary afterschool programs, the BC Wheelchair rugby tournament, Dhalco Learning Center and the Vancouver Chinese Pentecostal Church. She has found the time to do this while also a constant presence on the honour roll and principal’s list boasting a remarkable 95% average. We are thrilled to present Pauline with the Adrian Dix Award and wish her much success in the future.

From Windermere, the scholarship was awarded to Edrick Dudang. Edrick took every Senior Social Studies courses and has a strong passion for social justice issues. Edrick watches the daily news every day, is up to date on both Canadian and American current events, and plans to pursue a career in politics or journalism. Congratulations, Edrick!